Lords of The Seven Rays

The Seven Chohans

Tutoring the souls of humanity in the internalization of the Word and the Work of the Lord on each of the seven rays, these Ascended Mastersare selected to hold their offices in the spiritual hierarchy of the planet by the “Great Lord” (in the East he is called the “Maha Chohan”), whose official title is Representative of the Holy Spirit.

Also involved in the selection proceedings are the World Teachers Jesus Christ and Kuthumi, Lord Maitreya, representative of the Cosmic Christ, and the seven-member Karmic Board. And the Lord of the World, Gautama Buddha, seals their appointments with the blessing of the Seven Holy Kumaras, who ensoul the seven rays of the seven spheres.

What do the Seven Chohans Teach?

Each of the Seven Lords teaches
·  the balance of the threefold flame
·  the harmony of the four lower bodies
·  the transmutation of personal and planetary karma through the qualities of his ray.

Their function includes meeting the needs of humanity's ascent to God by means of the rainbow rays, which culminate in the white light and the Law of the One.

For the seeker following in the footsteps of these representatives of Christ Truth, each step of self-mastery secured on one ray is gain on the other six rays, for the shaft of white light in the center of each ray is the unifier of them all.

This shaft is the Law of the One in manifestation, even as the white fire core of the seven flames and seven spheres corresponding to the seven rays is also their sun center—the unifying Holy Spirit of these Light-emanations of Cosmos itself.

The Lord of the Ray is therefore one who embodies the consciousness of the Lord—the I AM THAT I AM—who is the Lawgiver of the ray. The Word and Work of the Chohan, i.e., his ‘Path’, are the expressions of the authority he holds in the interpretation of the Law of the ray.

Chakra Initiations

Truly, the key to Christhood through loving obedience to Father and Son is fulfilled in the disciple’s acceptance of Jesus' calling to be a mediator of the Word and Work of the Lord.

Mirroring His consciousness that all might see His reflected image, the disciple is readying himself to receive the chakra initiations of the Holy Spirit given by the hand of the Maha Chohan through the Seven Chohans according to the degrees of the seven rays.

And for those who have the understanding of the Inner Light (to use a Quaker term), we will say that the bestowal of the nine gifts is, by definition, the transfer of the initial matrix of the power of the three-times-three which the disciple must learn to wield, enhancing it through the balanced threefold flame and the science of the spoken Word.

A Journey of Discovery

And so, we come to the Chohans, who are also mirrors reflecting to us from the ascended state, as well as from their past lives, the image of Christ made clear through their accomplishments on each of the seven rays, or paths, to God. For theirs are the gifts of the Holy Spirit.

Heart to heart we would learn of them and their transfer of the spiritual graces by which our souls should also be adorned. For the Beloved said: “My grace is sufficient for thee . . .”

Let us embark, then, upon a journey of discovery through the causal bodies of the Seven Chohans.

As our vessel ventures forth upon the stream of their consciousness, we will pull the charts of their missions, examining their karmic circumstance in the recurrent cycles where they have been the lights of history.

We will enter into vignettes of their lives taken from forgotten ages on legendary continents and civilizations buried in the sands of time or beneath the seas.

For we would understand the making of a Chohan, why they were chosen to administer the gifts and graces of the Lord's Spirit, and learn of them the path of our soul's preparation to be the bride of Christ.

From this introduction to the heart and spirit of the Noble Seven we move on to an inner knowing and love of the best of Friends earth's experience has allowed us.

Who are the Lords, or Chohans of the Seven Rays?

In divine order, the chohans of the seven rays are:

I. El Morya, Chohan of the First Ray –
Chief of the Darjeeling Council of the Great White Brotherhood, statesman, poet, economist and saint, founder of The Summit Lighthouse and beloved Guru of the Messengers and chelas:
“Not my will but thine be done!”

II. Lord Lanto, Chohan of the Second Ray –
Sponsor of the Royal Teton Retreat and Council overseeing all systems of education and institutions of higher learning, exponent of the ancient wisdom made practical for the Western mind, facilitator of the new age path to Eastern traditionalists:
“Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom and with all thy getting, get understanding!”

III. Paul the Venetian, Chohan of the Third Ray –
Divine artist conferring by the excellence of works the image of Christ unique to every soul, preparing lifestreams by Love's disciplines for the initiations of the Sacred Heart and the Tree of Life:
“Learn to love to do well and you shall!”

IV. Serapis Bey, Chohan of the Fourth Ray –
Hierarch of Luxor, initiator of the ascending ones in the applications of the sacred fire, architect of holy orders, the inner life, and golden-age cities, military disciplinarian of the forces of Light, Peace, and Cosmic Freedom:
“I AM the Guard!”

V. Hilarion, Chohan of the Fifth Ray –
Teacher of immortal Truth, Divine Science, all physical and metaphysical branches of science and the healing arts; the eternal empiricist who brings the seeker to the initiatic path of the apostle Paul:
“And ye shall know the Truth, and the Truth shall make you free!”

VI. Lady Master Nada, Chohan of the Sixth Ray –
The soul's advocate before the bar of divine justice, unifier of families and twin flames, qualifier of Love as ministration and service to every part of Life—a path of deeds prerequisite to self-mastery on the Ruby Ray:
“The servant is not greater than his Lord.”

VII. Saint Germain, Chohan of the Seventh Ray –
Sponsor of the United States of America, Lord of the Seventh Ray and Age, alchemist of the sacred fire who comes bearing the gift of the violet flame of freedom for world transmutation:
“The Light of God never fails, and the Beloved Mighty I AM Presence is that Light!”


1Called in the East the Seven “Chohans” and the “Maha Chohan,” which translates Seven Lords and Great Lord
2Lightbearer: The word means Christbearer, one who bears the Light which is Christ, one who bears the responsibility for Christhood in himself and others by defending the Truth and Honor of God; one who is anointed with the Christ consciousness and bears this enlightenment to all. The Lightbearer is the Keeper of the Flame whose motto must be “I AM my brother's keeper—I AM the keeper of the Light who is Christ in my brother.”
The above article is an excerpt from the introduction to Lords of the Seven Rays by Mark L. Prophet and Elizabeth Clare Prophet.